Councillor Amy Wheelton elected in Seales ward by election

Green SDDC landscape logo Green SDDC landscape logo

Independent Councillor Amy Wheelton has been elected in a by election held in the Seales ward of South Derbyshire.

Councillor Wheelton received 399 votes in the by election held on Thursday 9 September.

The full results are:

  • Amanda Jayne Baker (GRN) 27 votes          
  • Louise Ann Mulgrew (LAB) 188 votes           
  • Stuart Thomas Swann (CON) 390 votes      
  • Amy Wheelton (IND) 399 votes.

Councillor Wheelton and Conservative Councillor Simon Ackroyd will represent Seales ward until the next South Derbyshire District Council elections in 2023.

The make up of the Council is now:

  • 15 Labour members
  • 15 Conservative members
  • Five Independent Group members
  • One Independent member (no political grouping)

The Council Leader remains Labour Councillor Kevin Richards.

10 September 2021