Privacy settings

Elections results

General election count 04.07.2024 cropped General election count 04.07.2024 cropped

South Derbyshire residents took part in two elections on Thursday July 4, with a UK Parliamentary election and a District Council by-election taking place.

Following a review by the Boundary Commission for England in 2023, the District now falls into two Parliamentary constituencies. This means residents in all polling districts of the Hilton and Hatton wards are now included within the Derbyshire Dales Constituency.

In the July 2024 Parliamentary election South Derbyshire constituency, Labour’s Samantha Niblett was elected, with the Conservatives’ Heather Wheeler who had held the seat since 2010, coming second. Full results can be seen here.

In Derbyshire Dales, the seat also went to Labour, with John Whitby taking the seat, beating the Conservatives' Sarah Dines into second place by 350 votes. Full results can be seen here.

July 4 also saw a by-election in the Hatton ward. Three candidates contested the seat, with Conservative party candidate Julie Elizabeth Patten elected. The full results can be seen here.

5 July 2024

South Derbyshire District Council logogram

Cookies policy

We use cookies which are small files downloaded to your computer, used to improve your site visit. Some cookies are required to make the site work properly and other optional cookies help improve your experience on the site.
We recommend keeping all cookies but you can manage your cookie preferences below.

This tool will set a cookie on your device to remember your preferences and can be changed at any time.

Review your privacy settings