Candidates standing in South Derbyshire District Council by-elections on Thursday 6 May

elections 2019 elections 2019

Candidates standing in South Derbyshire District Council by-elections

Residents living in Church Gresley, Hilton and Seales wards will have the opportunity to vote for councillors to represent them in by-elections which will be held on Thursday 6 May.

Candidates standing in the elections are:

Church Gresley ward (one vacancy)

  • Roger Redfern (CON)
  • Sue Taylor (LAB)

Hilton ward (two vacancies)

  • Grahame Warwick Andrew (LD)
  • Alan Wayne Graves (REF)
  • Gillian Lemmon (CON)
  • David Henry Peacock (LAB)
  • Peter Henry Smith (CON)
  • Maureen Timmins (LAB)

Seales ward (one vacancy)

  • Simon David Ackroyd (CON)
  • Steven Frost (LAB)

Each of the candidates elected in the South Derbyshire District Council by-elections held on Thursday 6 May will serve as councillors until the next District Council elections in 2023. They will serve in addition to the existing councillors who were elected in 2019:

  • Councillor Gordon Rhind (LAB) and Councillor Trevor Southerd (LAB) in Church Gresley ward
  • Councillor Julie Patten (CON) in Hilton ward
  • Councillor Amy Wheelton (not representing a political group) in Seales ward

Polling stations will be open from 7am to 10pm on Thursday 6 May.

There may be queues at the polling stations as everyone voting in person will be asked to maintain social distancing measures including:

  • To wear a face covering at all times unless medically exempt
  • To bring along a pen or pencil to vote
  • To remain two metres apart from other people at all times.

South Derbyshire District Council provides services to residents including: bin collections, street cleaning, maintaining award-winning parks and open spaces, environmental protection, housing customer services including revenues and benefits, economic development, markets, town centre events and tourism.

4 May 2021