Privacy settings

Results of Melbourne by-election

ballot box ballot box

The results of the Melbourne ward by-election to South Derbyshire District Council held on Thursday 2 May have been announced.

Conservative party candidate Matthew John Gotheridge has been elected.

The full results are shown below:

Liam Dane Booth-Isherwood

Reform UK 




Matthew John Gotheridge


The Conservative Party



Thomas John James

(known as John James)  

Liberal Democrat



Jacqueline Ann Lane

(known as Jackie Lane) 

Labour Party



Jonathan Wood

Green Party



Electorate: 4,300

Number of ballot papers rejected: 8

Turnout: 47.7 per cent

Declaration of result of poll - Melbourne (pdf, 84kb)

3 May 2024

South Derbyshire District Council logogram

Cookies policy

We use cookies which are small files downloaded to your computer, used to improve your site visit. Some cookies are required to make the site work properly and other optional cookies help improve your experience on the site.
We recommend keeping all cookies but you can manage your cookie preferences below.

This tool will set a cookie on your device to remember your preferences and can be changed at any time.

Review your privacy settings