Conservation Areas

We are currently receiving a high number of planning applications which is resulting in delays to our usual response times. We are determining applications and responding to enquiries in the order they are received. We will respond as soon as possible.

A Conservation Area is an area of special architectural or historic importance, the character of which it is desirable to preserve or enhance. There are 22 Conservation Areas in South Derbyshire, each with a unique identity that we want to protect.

Each Conservation Area has its own unique Character Statement:

In Conservation Areas there are additional planning controls that affect works to buildings and other structures. Permission is required for demolition (called ‘relevant demolition’) or part demolition of most buildings and structures, with limited exceptions. In addition, it is necessary to give notice of works to trees in Conservation Areas.

It is important to note that either unauthorised works to trees or relevant demolition constitute an offence that could result in prosecution

In Swadlincote, Shardlow, Melbourne and Ticknall Article 4 directions are in place. These directions mean that planning permission is needed for most alterations and extensions, including replacement windows and doors. Maps showing the Article 4 directions are available on our interactive mapping service

In Twyford, an Article 4 direction makes it necessary to apply for planning permission for all agricultural buildings. In Swadlincote, the direction is in place for most alterations and extensions, including replacement windows and doors and the demolition of gates, fences or walls. It is advised to read the Article 4 direction for each settlement to get a full understanding of the restrictions in place.

For more information about permitted development rights and Article 4 directions in Conservation Areas, visit the Planning Practice Guidance website.